The Calgary Habit

22 Jul

I’m off to the Calgary Folk Fest today. The timing sucks in terms of the site, but I’m very excited to see Library Voices, Stars and the Avett Brothers. While I’m rocking out to the soothing sounds of Americana down in the land that Lord Stanley forgot, make sure to check out Neil deMause’s  Field of Schemes, the single best source for sports stadium news on the net, as well as Let’s All Give Money to the Rich Man, a hilariously insightful comic from Reason.com on sports team owners and corporate welfare. Actually, while you’re at it, check out Episode Five of Reason Saves Cleveland, too. It might ring a few bells.

4 Responses to “The Calgary Habit”

  1. KDM July 23, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    How good were the Avett Brothers last night yeah? I was a little shocked to see so many people leave after Stars, and even more shocked to see a few more leave before the Brothers had a chance to do their customary encore Talk of Indolence.

    Fantastic Stuff.

    Of course Stars were ok, not as good as the last time I saw ’em, but still solid. Amy is quite the performer. Something about her, that’s for sure. Library Voices were also decent.

    All in all a good night had by all I gather.

    Trust you enjoyed last night and hopefully you do the rest Andy.

    Love your writing.

    • Andy Grabia July 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      Yeah, it was fantastic. People skipping out after Stars worked great for me, as I was able to get right up and close in the dance area. But I was actually impressed by how into it the remaining crowd was. Lots and lots of people on their feet for the entire act, which would never happen in Edmonton on a Thursday night. I had a blast, and was so glad I travelled down to see them. I’m a big fan of Library Voices, too, so I was glad to see them, if only for a couple songs.

      Thanks for the kind words. Hope I can keep doing them justice.

      Cheers,

      A.

  2. Par July 23, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    While we’re at it:

    Stadium Status.

Leave a Reply

