The Haters Club

28 Jul

This whole post really speaks for itself, but I will say, as an Edmontonian, that I like information. I like evidence. I like to think. I like to take data and attempt to use logic and reason to solve problems. I also believe that being smart is a virtue. I believe that intelligence should be used to foster compassion and fuel discovery. I believe that information, once discerned and subjected to reflection and criticism, can lead to wisdom. And I believe that we are all searchers, searchers looking for answers. My mind is my blessing and my curse. It is the very essence of my humanity, what it means to be homo sapiens, and I don’t ever plan on letting it go.

So, you know, thanks but no thanks.

——–

“Some people choose to look at the information, a.k.a. the “evidence,” and good on them for doing it (someone’s got to). While evidence is important, it’s not what Edmontonians are interested in. Evidence is what lawyers and accountants are being paid to come up with on both sides to rationalize their decisions and to persuade with in their pitches. I’m not interested in commenting on the evidence of either side, which is why I choose not to write about it.

In my opinion, rationale is not enough. Why? Because Edmontonians don’t have time for information. We eat on the run, we drive our kids to soccer and dance practice, we work, we workout, we do it all. We do not have the time, nor do we really care to be convinced that what happened in X city and at X arena intellectually was the wrong decision. We don’t care because it has no relevance to us. We are emotional beings and therefore, information isn’t a competitive advantage like it used to be. I’d also like to think that both the Katz Group and Edmonton City Council are smart enough to learn from the past mistakes of others.”

16 Responses to “The Haters Club”

  1. KDM July 30, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Wow.
    Reading that link posted was incredibly hard, but I somehow managed to fight my way through it.

    I love how the arguments for the new arena are akin to something I did when I was a child.

    Why should a new arena be built?
    “Because the old one is, well, old”

    Ok any other reasons?
    “Because.”

    Any real evidence or facts as to why?
    “Nope, just because.”

    It’s like there’s a big void that people don’t want to bother listening to or responding to.

    I don’t get it.

    And, Nichole great site. You’ve got some impressive work.

    As always Andy, continue writing. You should offer a guest spot to Mr.Cosh as I love his writing as well, and would like to hear his views on this whole charade too.

    • Andy Grabia July 30, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

      Colby has an open invitation to write on any of my sites at any time. Macleans probably prefers that he put his content on his blog their, however. 🙂

  2. kris July 29, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    I really thought it was some kind of awesome tongue in cheek parody, Colbert-style.

    Reminded me of the brilliant Colbert quote:

    “That’s where the truth lies, right down here in the gut. Do you know you have more nerve endings in your gut than you have in your head? You can look it up. Now, I know some of you are going to say, “I did look it up, and that’s not true.” That’s ’cause you looked it up in a book. Next time, look it up in your gut. I did. My gut tells me that’s how our nervous system works. ”

    —-

    Awesome site. Please keep blogging during the season. I love it.

  3. Nicole July 29, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Basically they’re saying that they’d rather make a wrong emotional decision rather than make an intellectual right one. Wonderful.

    • Andy Grabia July 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      This is my favorite part of the whole piece:

      “News flash haters—I don’t care that you don’t think it’s broken. If I think it’s broken, it’s broken. If Eric thinks it’s broken, it’s broken. If Sarah thinks it’s broken, it’s broken. If anyone thinks it’s broken, it’s broken!”

      I’ve already used some form of it in about twenty emails. Makes me giggle every time.

      • Little Fury July 29, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

        Shorter Urban Jungle: If Chewbacca lives on Endor, you must build.

    • Nicole July 29, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      Oh, and furthermore– the Urban Jungle talks about 50/50 partnership and applauds the idea of the city and the Katz Group working together. In what partnership does only one of the partners get to reap all the profits? That’s not a partnership, that’s more akin to a bail-out.

      • Andy Grabia July 29, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

        It’s corporate welfare through blackmail, plain and simple. And the 50/50 thing is absolutely false. It’s a made-up number. I didn’t even bother covering that because the whole post is so preposterous.

  4. RiversQ July 29, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    We are emotional beings and therefore, information isn’t a competitive advantage like it used to be.

    Wow.

    That is one of the most ignorant sentences you’ll ever read in your life.

  5. sv July 29, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    It’s crazy in the Jungle. For example here two consecutive suggestions as to how to make the Indy work:

    13. Think critically.

    Fear of criticizing current practices and commitments is a high-risk activity.

    14. Make decisions with your heart.

    Addiction to left-brained, analytical thinking (“data is God”) is corporate crack. People are emotional and heart-driven beings. Data is no longer the advantage it used to be.

    My response: “Huh?”

  6. Little Fury July 29, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    My fave line from that article? “Kudos to (Katz group) for having a vision.”

    A vision? Big deal. I’d be happier if they had a plan.

    Also can you add “the catalyst to creating a critically contagious pulse in this city.” to your glossary of hack phrases?

  7. Sir Wilfred Laurier Heights July 29, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    “I’m too busy to think, so let’s just do this”? Are you kidding me?

    If you’re too busy to think, maybe we should hire a bunch of representatives to do the thinking for you. They would sit on — oh, I don’t know — a council, and their job would be to think about the impact of certain decisions and the direction of the city. Lords know Edmontonians are too busy “working out” to think about this kind of thing.

    What a concept. Andy, can we create such a council so they can do our thinking for us!?

    • sv July 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      Well thank goodness for the autonomic system then.

  8. Doogie2K July 29, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    This past week’s Puck Podcast featured one of the hosts going on a nine-minute rant about how bullshit this arena business is.

    Bear in mind, these guys are in LA. However many millions of miles away, and they know this is a load of horse hockey (no pun intended) on sight. Unbelievable.

    (1:26:50 is the starting point, give or take five seconds. I wasn’t looking at my iPod when it started.)

    • Andy Grabia July 29, 2010 at 12:32 am #

      In L.A.? That can’t be true. L.A. Live saved Los Angeles’ downtown!!! 😉

      Thanks, Doogie. Will check out.

      • Lord Bob July 29, 2010 at 10:00 am #

        LA Live was easily my favourite part of Los Angeles. Easily.

        Mind you, I hate Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

